The Lakers win the 2020 NBA championship

After an extra long and stressful season due to the COVID 19 pandemic, it was the Los Angeles Lakers led by finals MVP Lebron James who took home the Larry O’Brian trophy this year after defeating the Miami Heat in six games. After the season was suspended in March due to COVID 19, basketball fans across the globe feared that we may never see a 2020 NBA championship. 

In June, NBA commissioner Adam Silver announced the NBA’s plan to continue the season with all the games being played at ESPN headquarters at Disney World in Orlando, Florida. After it was confirmed that there would be a season, talks began about who would be the NBA champions. In the end, it came down to the Miami Heat led by Jimmy Butler and Bam Adebayo and the Los Angeles Lakers led by James and Anthony Davis. 

The Lakers came out strong winning the first two games by double digits with James leading the way for the Lakers scoring 25 points, grabbing 13 rebounds and dishing out nine assists in game one and 33 points nine rebounds and nine assists in game two. 

In game three, the team struck back led by a phenomenal game by Butler who scored 40 points while also having 11 rebounds and 13 assists. 

The Lakers were able to bounce back in game four with a 6-point win with defense being the key for the Lakers. After game four, guarded Butler and was able to hold him to just 22 points. 

Down 3-1, the Heat needed a win in game five and that’s what they did. Duncan Robinson scored 26 points and made seven 3-pointers for the Heat, but the main storyline from the game was when Lakers’ guard Danny Green missed a wide open 3-pointer in the final seconds of the game. 

In the deciding game six, the Lakers got an early lead  36 points at halftime and eventually won the game. 

James won the finals MVP; his fourth and is the first player in NBA history to win finals MVP on three different teams. James averaged 30 points, 12 rebounds and eight assists for the series and won his fourth individual championship. The Lakers won their 18th team championship tying the Boston Celtics for the most team championships.